

Hawaii High School Athletic Association

P.O. Box 62029, Honolulu, Hawaii 96839 Ph: (808) 587-4495 · Fax: (808) 587-4496

www.sportshigh.com

Media Contact: Wes Nakama · wesnakama@gmail.com

10TH ANNUAL ZIPPY'S/HHSAA CHEERLEADING STATE CHAMPIONSHIPS

Sunday, Dec. 5, 2010 - Stan Sheriff Center

TOURNAMENT SCHEDULE

2 p.m. Opening/introduction

2:10 p.m. First competitive

performance

4:45 p.m. Final competitive

performance

5:10 p.m. Awards ceremony

TOURNAMENT REPRESENTATION

	LARGE	MEDIUM
OIA	4	5
ILH	2	1
BIIF	0	2
MIL	1	1
KIF	1	0
TOTAL	8	9

Tournament Site:

Stan Sheriff Center, University of Hawai'i 1337 Lower Campus Rd, Honolulu 96822

Admission: \$9 adults; \$5 students (K-12) and senior citizens (age 62 and over)

Parking: \$5 – UH lower campus parking structure

MEDIA CONTACT:

Wes Nakama, HHSAA Assistant Director of Information, will be the primary media contact for results. He can be reached at 348-1244 or by e-mail at wesnakama@gmail.com.

RESULTS:

Results will be posted on the HHSAA website, <u>www.sportshigh.com</u>, at the conclusion of the competition.

The top high school cheerleading squads from across Hawaii will compete for the coveted crown in the 10^{th} Annual Zippy's/HHSAA State Championships, Sunday, Dec. 5, at the Stan Sheriff Center. This year's field features eight teams in the large (11 to 18-person squad) division and nine teams in the medium (maximum 10-person squad) division.

Rules & Scoring:

Each team will perform one routine that incorporates both cheer and dance, in a time span no longer than 2 minutes, 30 seconds.

Squads must not exceed a maximum of 1 minute, 30 seconds of music and must perform a minimum of 35 seconds for cheer/chant.

A judges panel consisting of three performance judges, one "range" judge, three safety judges and two timers will help determine each team's score out of a maximum 375 points. Penalties (overall point deductions) will be assessed for violations in time limit, safety regulations and missed or dropped stunts or tumbling.

In the case of a tie, the total points from the "cheerleading fundamentals" section on the score sheet will determine the winner. In the event there is a second tie, the total points from the "overall performance" section on the score sheet will determine the winner.

In the event of a third tie, the judges will rank the teams and this will determine the winner.

Exhibition performances:

JV and intermediate performances will be included in the schedule but will not count toward the state championship.

There also will be exhibition performances by Cheer 808 and Hawaii Pacific University squads.

Large Division

YEAR	CHAMPION	LEAGUE	COACH	RUNNER-UP	THIRD PLACE
2001-02	'Aiea	OIA	Liz Godinet	Waiakea	Hilo
2002-03	Moanalua	OIA	Sherrie Faldo	`Aiea	Punahou
2003-04	Kamehameha	ILH	Dolly Wong	Radford	Baldwin
2004-05	Kamehameha	ILH	Melissa Beimes	Baldwin	Kauai
2005-06	Kamehameha	ILH	Melissa Beimes	Baldwin	Lahainaluna
2006-07	Mililani	OIA	Renesha Kierstedt	Kamehameha	Kealakehe
2007-08	Kamehameha	ILH	Melissa Beimes and Dolly Wong	Mililani	Kailua
2008-09	Kamehameha	ILH	Melissa Beimes	Mililani	Moanalua
2009-10	Kamehameha	ILH	Melissa Beimes	Moanalua	Mililani

Medium Division

YEAR	CHAMPION	LEAGUE	COACH	RUNNER-UP	THIRD PLACE
2001-02	Kamehameha	ILH	Dolly Wong	Radford	Moanalua
2002-03	Kamehameha	ILH	Dolly Wong	Radford	Baldwin
2003-04	Moanalua	OIA	Sherry Faildo	Mililani	Leilehua
2004-05	Moanalua	OIA	Tammie Picklesimer	Radford	`Iolani
2005-06	Radford	OIA	Bo Frank	Baldwin	Moanalua
2006-07	Radford	OIA	Bo Frank	Baldwin	Moanalua
2007-08	Radford	OIA	Bo Frank	Moanalua	Baldwin
2008-09	Radford	OIA	Bo Frank	Kamehameha-Hawaii	Pearl City
2009-10	Radford	OIA	Bo Frank	Waiakea	Kapolei

2010 Zippy's/HHSAA Cheerleading Championships Order of Performance

	Medium Division	Large Division Kamehameha-Maui,
1	Baldwin, 2:10 p.m.	2:20 p.m.
2	Leilehua, 2:25 p.m.	Pearl City, 2:35 p.m.
3	Waiakea, 2:45 p.m.	Mililani, 2:55 p.m.
4	Punahou, 3:05 p.m.	Waimea, 3:15 p.m.
5	Radford, 3:25 p.m.	Kalaheo, 3:35 p.m.
6	'Aiea, 3:45 p.m.	Kamehameha, 3:55 p.m.
7	Moanalua, 4:05 p.m.	Kapolei, 4:15 p.m.
8	Kaiser, 4:25 p.m.	Pac-Five, 4:35 p.m.
9	Kealakehe, 4:45 p.m.	